Catching Up/Computer Virus

About a month ago I got all revved up and finally created a site to jump into the world of cooking blogs (and actually all blogs, because my experience caps out at old myspace crap). I created this site, got cooking and then my laptop died at the hands of some horrible virus.

-So-

After some work on the old desktop I am back in business.  Now the idea here is to create a blog that records my various vegetarian kitchen experiments (hence the name). I don’t tend to be a recipe follower, so it’s hard to make the same thing twice. So why not post what I make online and maybe give other people the chance to try it too, right? It seems to be working for my sister anyway (NomNomNomBlog.com), although I guarantee she’s far more talented than I am at both cooking and blogging. So maybe don’t read hers until you’ve given me a chance.

Now the secondary aim of this blog is to show all those people I know/meet who think it’s too hard and time consuming to cook real food for most of their meals that it’s not that bad. The usual reasoning is that they don’t want to cook for themselves, they don’t want to wait hours after work to eat and fresh produce is too expensive. Since I almost always cook for myself, typically come home from work late and starving and have modest financial means at best I think I might be able to help give these people some ideas. Same thing goes for the vegetarian part of all of this. I’m a somewhat recent convert of a year and a half, so perhaps I can help with that whole transition as well. If you want to make it that is, lord knows I’m not forcing anyone.

-Ok-

Food! What’s the hold up? I know I should probably talk equipment and all that, but for now I’ll just mention things as I use them. Really my only requirements anyway are saucepan, frying pan, good knives, something to stir with (no hands, it’ll be hot) and a utensil to eat with. Everything else is optional. As for your kitchen we won’t be too picky, mine is basically a hallway. Although I do like that gas stove.

Ted's Kitchen

Now the good stuff. The first experiment I’m going to put in here is the one I made right before my laptop bit it.

Chickpea & Broccoli Curry (I’m new to naming things, so no wit here)

Ingredients:
1 Large Crown of Broccoli – Cut into mouth-size pieces
1/2 of a Medium/Large Yellow Onion – Cut as you will. I like big pieces
1 Can (15oz) Chickpeas/Garbanzo Beans
Olive Oil
Curry Powder
Soy Sauce/Liquid Aminos
Sherry

Directions:
Put your frying/saute pan (cover is a plus) over medium-high heat. Put enough water in to cover the entire bottom, then add a splash of sherry and 1 tbspof olive oil. Once the water is about to boil throw in the broccoli. Cover it (if you have one, if not use more water) and cook until the broccoli turns bright green. Then turn the heat to medium and throw in the onions. Once the onions start softening up put in the chick peas and about 1/4 tsp of curry powder and a splash or two of soy sauce. As that cooks you can add more curry powder to taste, a pinch or two of salt and a little cayenne pepper if you want it spicy. While put this all in make sure you are stirring somewhat frequently. Then keep saute-ing or stir frying (depending on water content) until the broccoli is cooked.

Broccoli & Chickpea Curry in the Pan

Once the broccoli is where you like it (I accidentally overcooked mine a bit) then just spoon it all onto a plate and dig in! This recipe probably officially makes enough for two, although I ate it after playing basketball all morning, so I polished it off. I’m a fan of leftovers so I don’t typically mind, but if you want to simply cook less I’d probably use half the chickpeas and store the rest for later.

The finished product:Broccoli & Chickpea Curry

Definitely not quite at the level my sister is with the pictures, but I’ll work on it. As for the food, it was delicious. In fact I just made another Chickpea Curry today, but with potatoes and carrots. The beauty of this and most of my experiments is that vegetable and spice choice is flexible. So have fun!

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Catching Up/Computer Virus”

  1. krispycheks Says:

    That looks awesome. Three of my favorites: chickpeas, broccoli and curry. Mmm… I like your little kitchen, it’s so Minneapolis, it kind of makes me homesick. We’ll have do some blog cross-over stuff this summer when I come out. It will be like when Dagwood appears on Hi and Lois or something like that. :)

  2. vicki Says:

    That’s a great combo of some of my favorite things! Hope you enjoy food blogging!! :)

  3. shellyfish Says:

    Hi – I’m over from your sister Krispycheks blog. I’ve been trying to talk my brother into foodblogging, too. Right on – chickpeas, broccoli, curry…nothing but goodness!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

